Fluminense crowned Brasileiro champions 2010

December 6, 2010 at 19:01 6 comments

Fluminense's Conca on top of the world

Another griping Campeonato Brasileiro was decided on the final day. Having led the championship for most of the year, honours went to Fluminense after their 1-0 win over Guarani in the estádio Engenhão. Coach Muricy Ramalho’s overly-cautious style may not suit the purists but he is the most successful coach in recent years winning four titles in the last five seasons. See the highlights.

Fluminense finished the campaign two points clear of Cruzeiro who ended their season with a 2-1 win over Palmeiras.

Corinthians finished in a disappointing 3rd after being held 1-1 by a second-string Goiás.

Grêmio’s win over Botafogo saw them take 4th spot. But the Porto Alegre outfit will only qualify for the Libertadores if Goiás lose the finals of the Copa Sul Americana to Argentina’s Independente. Grêmio’s Jonas finished the season as the league’s top scorer with 23 goals.

After failing to beat Atlético Goianiense, Vitória became the last side to drop into Série B. They joined Guarani, Goiás and Grêmio Prudente. Coritiba, Bahia, Figueirense and América Mineiro are the replacements.

See the Campeonato Brasileiro round 38 table and the rest of the results here

Entry filed under: Campeonato Brasileiro 2010. Tags: , , .

FootBrazil’s interview with Brazil’s Jucilei da Silva FootBrazil’s interview with Campeonato Brasileiro 2010 top scorer – Grêmio’s Jonas

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike  |  December 6, 2010 at 21:10

    Fluminense very deserving champions. After the last few years have seen clubes entering late in the competition to steal the title, this year was won by a team that was always near the top. 26 years between Fluminense titles (1984-2010), 26 years between Coritiba titles (1985-2011)? I can always dream!

    Reply
  • 2. Thomas  |  December 6, 2010 at 22:27

    I am not sure about a a better story than this. I think the steady, counter-attacking (boring?) approach to Flu futebol is a nice change of pace. I am still wishing for Corinthians in the Libertadores.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Chris  |  December 6, 2010 at 23:30

    With Gremio being the champions of the second half of the season you should watch out for them to be serious contenders next year!

    I think Wednesday will be the first time in my life I will cheer on an Argentinian team to win.

    Reply
  • 4. byker  |  December 8, 2010 at 13:56

    As a marmite munching Fluminense supporting Rio Living Brit,
    a fantastic end to the season..
    A couple of things I’d like to get of my chest though,This is a half decent blog but from where I’m sitting you appear totally biased to the teams from Sao Paulo
    I started to read your post as my English team is Arsenal and you had already written off the career the Career of 18 year old Wellington Silva, I also sensed a begrudging tone to all the articles relating to Fluminense
    As for the cautious Muricy 4 titles in 5 years isn’t bad ,you’d probably hailing him as one of the greatest if Corinthians had won under his stewardship. but hey ho……..
    can’t wait for 2011…

    Reply
  • 5. pitacodogringo  |  December 8, 2010 at 16:55

    Hi Byker

    Thanks for the comment.

    I can assure you I have no bias in favour of the São Paulo teams (or any other side in Brazil for that matter). but I’m based in São Paulo and FootBrazil does tend to cover a lot of the players here. So that’s why the blog so much SP content.

    I haven’t written off Wellington Silva. In fact, I hope he does well at Arsenal. I simply reported on what has happened to him since he signed for The Gunners. However, I also covered some of Silva’s games and quite simply, he wasn’t very good. With hope Wenger, will bring the best out of him.

    I’ve also nothing against Fluminense. in the space of a year, they’ve gone from surviving relegation by just one point to winning the league. so, all credit to them for that.
    Though I admit I’m not a Ramalho fan. while I respect him for his record in the league, it doesn’t mean I have to like the way his team’s play. Two years ago, I did a piece on him while he was at São Paulo – http://bit.ly/fWsvwe – nothing’s changed as far as I can see.

    Reply
    • 6. byker  |  December 8, 2010 at 18:02

      Jon, thanks for the reply.
      Your Muricy article also straightens things out, fair enough you don’t like his style of play, however Fluminense scored 62 goals this season only Gremio and Corinthians scored more..
      As a Flu fan of 13 years, I’d rather them win the league his way than not at all…At least on other side of the Atlantic I can watch Arsenal play beautiful football season after season and win nothing!!
      you never know though maybe I’ll get the double this year!

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Author

Jon Cotterill. South America football expert. Brazil/Argentina. Author 'Anatomy of a football scout: an in-depth look at player recruitment’

Copyright – don’t steal my stuff! links and excerpts are fine

© Jon Cotterill and Pitacodogringo's Brazilian football site, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jon Cotterill and Pitacodogringo's Brazilian football site with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Categories

Listed on Soccer Blogs